Homeless Books

Standard

My room has books all over the floors, pens over my pillows, and journals on my desks. I regularly sleep with and wake up next to my books, journals, and pens. As a result, my mind is very organized. I have all my thoughts down on paper and knowledge within my reach, sitting on my shelves and between my bedsheets. My room, on the other hand, is incredibly messy. It struck me just today when I had to literally jump over a pile of books just to get to the other side of my room. So, I looked through my books, and found almost a hundred books that I’m no longer interested in. I have some books that I could read over and over again, others that I know I will need for future reference, and others still that I have outgrown. Books are somewhat like clothes. When you’ve outgrown them, you give them away to others who could use them. The one hundred books that I need to give away are books that I grew up with, books that I read back when I was about 13 years old – but I’ve seen many people my own age reading them today. It’s probably always just been me who read books that weren’t for my own age, but I’m sure that someone else would enjoy reading them after I give them away.
I hold those books in my heart, but no longer have room for them in my room. As far as I know, there isn’t a place I can donate my books to where I know they will be looked after, so instead I’m posting this announcement to see whoever’s interested. The books I want to give away are mostly light-hearted fictional novels. For those that know me, they’re nothing like the heavy material I read nowadays, so you can rule that out πŸ˜‰ I did ask a few friends to ask their school libraries if they take book donations, and a friend mentioned something called Vanguardia which I will look into and write about, but for now I’m keeping my options open to ensure that my books end up in good hands who will treasure them as I did.
Please let me know if you’re interested in a good read πŸ™‚

15 responses »

  1. The Lovely Bones is such a good read. I rescued some “homeless books” on Christmas Eve, and it was such a good feeling. I especially love those Moleskin journals (they’re my favorite kind of journals). I’m always up for more books! πŸ™‚

    • The Lovely Bones is one of my all time favorite books. Movie kind of killed it though. Moleskin journals are fantastic for writing, I love mine! Easy to find in messy piles too πŸ˜› I’d gladly give you some books but are you located in Kuwait?

  2. There’s a used bookstore you can take them to. They’ll give you store credit for them and you can get books you’re interested in now in return. (called BetterBooks and located in Salmiya).
    Anyway, I love reading, so I wouldn’t mind taking some!

  3. Is this offer still open?
    I’m crazy about books and have many books laying around my room or neatly lined up on my shelf, and all of my books are in top quality. I would love to give these books a good home if you are willing and the offer is still open.
    You can contact me at: yukimi.hikari@yahoo.com

  4. Hi there!

    I stumbled across your blog today. Great writing. I’ve got a new blog to stalk πŸ˜€

    Regarding your books, if the offer is still open (fingers crossed), I’d like to get my hands on them. Also, I have some books to give away, if you are interested.

    Thanks.

    Cheers,
    JD

  5. Hello!

    I just came across to your blog, and once I saw this picture, I couldn’t resist not telling you, especially when I saw the Jarir bookstores bag…
    I wanted to inform you that I have just released my new fiction thriller in there, in Jarir bookstore, its a good read guarantee, I’ll be heading to London for a book signing this summer too. So here’s a link where you can download a sample chapters, 17 pages of good read that will hook you up and leave you with no choice but to find out more: http://www.wix.com/aa_psychs/psychs
    Have a good read πŸ™‚

    A. H. Amin

  6. I blog quite often and I really appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark
    your blog and keep checking for new information
    about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

