Alienated

Standard

    Once at a writer’s conference when I was 13, there was another 13-year-old boy that wrote mostly about aliens invading the earth. One of the activities at the conference was to write our stories, and then present them to the audience. So after he read his on stage, I approached him during the break, and spoke to him. I told him I liked his writing, then jokingly asked him if he believed in aliens. He told me he did, and his dead-serious tone of voice confirmed that he wasn’t being sarcastic. I was surprised. I asked him, How? And his rationale was that the universe was too big for our solar system to be the only one we know of, and for our planet to be the only one with living beings on it.

I still wasn’t convinced by what he said. The ‘logic’ that I was used to, told me that he couldn’t possibly be speaking logically – or his supervisor for that matter, who also spoke to me and tried to convince me.

She asked me, “Is it because you haven’t seen proof of their existence?”

I said yes.

She said, “Do you believe in God?”

I said yes.

And the two alien-believers thought that was an indication of their triumph.

This was in 2007, I believe. And people still use the question “Do you believe in God?” to convince me to believe in what I cannot see.

“Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.” — Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

